Spring Hiatus

17 04 2010

After kicking off my theater blog this January, I will be taking a short hiatus from reviewing shows until about mid-June. I hated making this decision, but I have a busy spring in store! In addition to finishing my PhD coursework and fulfilling my grad student research position, I am co-chairing the 2nd national grad student conference in performance studies, assistant music directing the UCLA Theater Department’s spring production of Cabaret, and … the most recent news … writing a short musical for the West Village Musical Theatre Festival!

I was just accepted as a composer for the Festival.  I will be teamed up with a bookwriter / lyricist (TBA) to collaborate on a 10-15 minute musical in the next two months.  It looks like I will be going directly from the final performance of Cabaret (on Saturday, June 5) to NYC for tech rehearsals beginning on Monday, June 7.  The new musicals will premiere from June 10 – 13 at Wings Theatre in NYC’s West Village!

Reviews will be few and far between this spring quarter as I devote my time to all this exciting work. I recently saw, but haven’t had the time to write, reviews about a charming production of Kiss Me Kate at Glendale Centre Theatre and a playful take on Side by Side by Sondheim at the Attic Theatre.  Both brought a huge smile to my face.  I am seeing an undergrad friend in Nightmare Alley at the Geffen this weekend – and lecturing on it later this quarter!

I may update my blog with occasional creative posts, if readers are interested in the musical-writing process. (Quite honestly, let me know. Other than friends at Bitter Lemons, I don’t know who my regular readers are!) You can expect me reviewing in full force again by the summer!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2010
Heather

Let me know if you need a place to stay in NYC! 🙂

19 04 2010
Jen

Here’s one reader who would love to read something about the musical-writing process!
Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

