Back to Blogging!

20 06 2010

After an absurdly busy spring, I’m back to blogging – with an overload of shows to review!  I just returned to LA after premiering a 15-minute musical in the West Village Musical Theatre Festival (more details of that adventure to come in a later post).  During my 2-week visit to NYC, I took advantage of every opportunity to see theater – so in the next few weeks, you can expect reviews of:

  • Red
  • Promises, Promises
  • Bloody, Bloody Andrew Jackson
  • South Pacific
  • Sondheim on Sondheim
  • La Cage aux Folles
  • American Idiot

Thank goodness for cheap back-row tickets and student rush!  I also saw two stunning NY Philharmonic concerts and Next to Normal for a fifth time, with Brian d’Arcy James as Dan (the father); it was absolutely worth the return visit, but perhaps not worth a new review.  If I have the time, I may revisit my notes and write up a review on Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo, which I saw Memorial Day weekend just before flying to NYC.  As supportive as I was of Next to Normal winning the Pulitzer, Bengal Tiger was challenging and incredibly thought-provoking.  (It would be a great success in London.)

Glad to be back in the blogosphere with so many NYC reviews to share in the upcoming weeks, not to mention a host of exciting summer theater to attend and review here in LA!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

